SD 4-H Rodeo Lay Board October 26, 2013 Ft. Pierre, SD

The annual meeting of the SD 4-H Rodeo Lay Association was called to order by Lay Board President Roger Theobald.

Roger called for the Secretary report. Treg Cowan made a motion to dispense with the reading of the Secretaries Report and approve them as written, Shaun McKay second the motion. Motion carried.

Roll call was taken; those rodeos present are Pennington County, Hyde Hand, Southwest SD, Eastern Dakota, Mellette County, Harding County, Heartland, Tripp County, Clark County, Central SD and State Finals.

A Draft 2014 Rodeo schedule was passed out. Southwest SD, Eastern Dakota and Tripp Counties all approved the dates for their 2014 rodeos.

Kristen Gonsoir and Janet Wright were present at the meeting and requested to approve the Aberdeen area for a two day 4-H rodeo to be held on July 5th & 6th, 2014. Sam Seymour made a motion to approve the rodeos. Dwayne Adams second, motion carried.

Rule changes were discussed. Shaun McKay made a motion to change the rule book regarding the Ambassador Contest. "Each rodeo may make it optional to include points from the Ambassador contest to be counted in the rodeo all-around points." Sam Seymour second the motion. Motion carried.

Peter Neilson was asked to communicate to all extension educators that they encourage all rodeo participants to "check ALL" events when entering the SD State Rodeo. By doing so they are eligible to participate in any event for that year. There is no cost to include all events, just a matter of ensuring they may compete in an event if they later decide to do so. He assured the lay board that the state has a Grievance policy if a problem exists and he encouraged everyone to contact his office if the need arises.

Peter Neilson and Lee Ann Gaer both informed the association that the waivers, notaries and Extension Educator or Leader signatures are ONLY required on the State form. These will no longer be necessary on the regional rodeo entry forms unless their local board requires a specific form, ie Stanley County Fairgrounds Waiver.

A discussion was held regarding Ribbon Roping. Diana Melvin made a motion to add, "Any outside interference or assistance while competing in the arena is a disqualification." Sam Seymour second, motion carried.

Election of 2014 Officers was held. Shaun McKay nominated Roger Theobald, Lee Ann Gaer second the motion. Sam Seymour made motion nominations cease. Roger was elected President.

Keith Gebhart nominated Todd Hemmingson as Vice President. Lee Ann Gaer second. Sam Seymour made motion nominations cease. Todd was elected Vice President.

Sam Seymour nominated Kathy Monnens as Secretary, Lee Ann Gaer second. Keith Gebhart made motion nominations cease. Kathy was elected Secretary.

Diana Melvin nominated Keith Gebhart as Director At Large, Sam Seymour second. Shaun McKay made motion nominations cease. Keith was elected Director At Large.

The other Director At Large is automatically filled by the President of the SD Finals, yet to be elected.

Other items of discussion were the ATRS computer system that were addressed by Shaun McKay. Most all of these problem areas have been corrected and the program should work much smoother. This was the first year for the regional rodeos to use the program and hopefully most of the glitches have been removed.

The next SD 4-H Rodeo Lay Board will meet again the last Saturday of October, 2014, unless a special meeting is called.

Keith Gebhart made a motion to adjourn. Shaun McKay second. Motion carried.

Respectively submitted, Kathy Monnens, Secretary