## SD 4-H Rodeo Lay Board October 23, 2022 Ft. Pierre, SD

Treg Cowan, Pres, called the meeting to order. Flag pledges were recited. Roll Call was taken. The following rodeos were present, Pennington Co., Sioux Empire #1 & #2, Dewey Co, Meade Co, Burke #1, Perkins #1 & #2, Sioux Area #1 & #2, Hyde Hand, Hub Area #1 & #2, Brule Co, Harding Co, Bennett Co, Eastern Dakota #1 & #2, Haakon/Jackson, South Central, Tripp Co, Ziebach #1 & #2, Heartland #1 & #2, Butte Co, Blunt #1 & #2, Clark #1 & #2, New Underwood #1 & #2, Glacial Lakes, Central # 2 & #2, State Finals, Lay Board. Most members were present at the meeting others were available on Zoom.

Treg Cowan asked for the reading and approval of Secretary Minutes of the last meeting. Justin Robertson made a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes and approve. Tyson Paxton 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Motion approved.

Treg asked for any Old Business. None was presented.

Treg then moved into the proposed rule changes. It was decided that we start with proposal #2. Eliminate the Girl's Flag Race and Jr. Boy's Flag Race. The Boy's Flag Race does not really prepare them for any Sr. Boy's event and the Jr. Girl's Barrels is already offered to Jr Girls which is very similar to the Flag Race. Eliminating one from each division will keep us in compliance with Title IV.

Discussion was held. Roll call vote was taken. 34 votes No and 3 Yes. Both Jr Girl and Jr Boy Flag Race will continue to be held.

Treg moved to proposed rule change #1.

Discussion was held regarding this proposal. Motion was made to amend proposal A) to read The Points system must be approved. Taylor Mohnen 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Motion carried.

Roll call vote was taken. Option A (point system similar to HS rodeo) received no votes, Option B (Must place twice in the top 4) received 1 vote, Option C (Place once in the top 3) received 6 votes, Option D (Place twice in top 5) received 2 votes and Option E (Remain as is, place in the top 4) received 27 votes. Qualification for state finals remains at the top 4 in each regional rodeo will qualify for state finals.

Treg called for nominations for President of the Lay Board. Justin Robertson nominated Treg Cowan, Kathy Monnens 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Shawn Ries made motion nominations cease. Treg was voted in as President.

Treg called for nominations for Vice President. Tyson Paxton nominated Donny Bergeson, Kathy Monnens 2<sup>nd</sup>. Teri Henninger made motion nominations cease. Donny was voted in as Vice President.

Treg called for nomination for Secretary/Treasurer. Mary Kay Sell nominated Kathy Monnens, Joy Meyer 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Tyson Paxton made motion nominations cease. Kathy Monnens was voted in as Secretary/Treasurer.

Treg call for nominations for Director at Large. Kathy Monnens nominated Joy Meyer. Regina Maier 2<sup>nd</sup> the nomination. Regina Maier nominated Chad Chauncey, Dawnita Forell 2<sup>nd</sup> the nomination. Discussion was held regarding if stock contractors should be board members. Regina Maier withdrew the nomination for Chad Chauncey. Joy Meyer was voted in as Director at Large.

Justin Robertson will serve as the 5<sup>th</sup> member of the Board of Directors as Pres. of the state finals.

Bill Hupp discussed parking at the state finals and Scott Deal stated that they will work to make parking more organized for next year.

Kathy Monnens suggested that all rodeos, when they submit their Approval Form to John Keimig, that they make sure that the date that they list on the form as the entry deadline, that this same date is the date that they put on their entry form.

Next meeting date – October 28, 2023 unless another meeting is called for prior to then.

Regina Maier made motion to adjourn. Dawnita Forell 2<sup>nd</sup>. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted

Kathy Monnens, Secretary